Is that it?

I can’t believe it’s just ten days since I last smoked and I don’t feel any desire to smoke again. Not even slightest! Maybe it’s just period when I don’t feel like smoking, maybe desire will return. I hope not. I don’t know how to explain this, I thought it will be much harder, but somehow it’s not. I realized that I feel more relived than I feel I’m struggling not to smoke. I was thinking about to quit smoking long before I actually did, maybe this is the reason that I feel so relived.

I don’t even think about it anymore. Only when I see someone smoking, I need to smoke, but it even easier to look to the other side, much easier than only five days ago. I try to preoccupy myself with many other things. It helps me not to think about smoking. I wasn’t thinking what I was doing while I was smoking, I did it automatically, like so many things I do in my life.

I read somewhere  that soldiers in some unit of american army always look in front of themselves, even when they go to lunch, so they are concentrated on the thing they do in that moment. That may sound radical to you, but in essence it’s just the thing you need to quit smoking, to do anything.

You need to be focused and determined to do the thing you want to do, in my case, quit smoking.  Like when you workout in the gym, you can workout to pump your brain and your will, so you can go with ease through out hard situations. The best thing about this is that you don’t need to say yes, you only need to say no. You don’t need to build up some new great, healthy habits, just rid of  the bad ones.

Practice. One day, when you feel like smoking, just don’t. When you feel like eating that big, sweet, greasy donut, just don’t! Don’t eat late, let that bastard(your stomach…) purr, just fall asleep. You see, you don’t need to build new habit, just change existing ones. Indulge yourself sometimes, and eat two donuts. You see it’s not about donuts, it’s about training your will, it’s important that it is what you want. Strong you, not weak part of you. Don’t feel bad about it. One day you smoke cigarette,some other day just don’t. Play like that, but make sure it’s what you want and you will build your power of will.

I have a friend that quit smoking three years ago, and he smoked three packs of cigarettes a day! Now he doesn’t smoke! Can you believe it? But I saw him once, when there was a party that he lit up a cigarette, he smoked up one half an he put it away. And that was it, simple example of control. You can eat big peace of cake every once in a while, but don’t do it regularly, get control!

I practice every day and it’s quite fun. The fun part is the one where you can just feel that control, you don’t feel week, you are deciding what you are going to do when the choice appears. And in that moment you can actually feel the power, but be aware of that moment  in which you are deciding and I’m sure you’ll do the right thing.

Here are some things you should be aware of in your life. Just think about one from the list and maybe it will help you to start making decisions you really want.

Leave a comment